Mama’s in the kitchen cooking (eggplant)

eggplant1

Around New Years my sissy told me that I cook bougie food. Oh because I don’t know how to make collard greens and peas and rice I gotta be bougie. Whatever!

I don’t claim to be the best in the kitchen but what I do make is damned good and it’s made with love. You can’t ask for anything more.

Because I don’t live in a hauty tauty neighborhood with supermakets that sell all the super fancy ingredients you need when watching some of these cooking channels is why Ina Gardner aka Barefoot Contessa and the Everyday Food magazine are my go to’s for new recipes and such. I like to cook things that have simple ingredients and requires a short grocery list.

One of my favorite things to cook are what I call eggplant stackers (Everyday Food magazine recipe). All you need is eggplant, tomato, mozzarella cheese, olive oil and your favorite seasonings. I love this recipe because as a sometimes vegetarian these stackers are super meaty and filling.

mama's

I’m not even going to try to pretend to know how to give you television-esque cooking instructions but here goes.

Cut the eggplant into semi thick slices:

mama1

Place on flat baking pan, brush both sides with olive oil and season with your favorite seasoning (I like to use salt, pepper, garlic and rosemary):

mama2

Place in oven at 350, cook on both sides for 20 minutes or until golden brown:

mama3

While waiting for eggplant to cook slice tomatoes and mozzarella cheese. Once eggplant is cooked on both sides. Stack tomato & cheese on eggplant and top with eggplant (sort of like an eggplant sandwich).

Place eggplant sandwiches back in oven until cheese is melted. I like my cheese to brown a little so I leave it in for about another 15 minutes. And voila there you have it, eggplant stackers! Enjoy!!!!!!

mama4
(I haven’t mastered making it look pretty like the picture on top but I sure have mastered the yummy!!!)

No worries…I got this!

2 thoughts on “Mama’s in the kitchen cooking (eggplant)

  1. Mimi says:

    The first time I ever ate an eggplant that wasn’t battered was when you made this. It is absolutely delicious and now that you’ve shared the recipe I’m going to try it myself. Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

