Summertime all the time fine: Workout Motivation

In addition to my 2 days a week training with The Assassin I am responsible for going to the gym 2 days a week and doing kick ass cardio. This makes me more nervous than going with The Assassin because that means I am solely responsible for making sure that I’m:
1) pushing myself to work as hard as I can
2) making sure my form is proper
3) not cutting corners
This all seems easy enough in essence but when you’re running on that treadmill or pushing on that eliptical and you feel like you can’t breath or your arms and thighs are in so much pain that you figure any minute now you can and will collapse is when it gets hard.

workout motivation 1

Last night was my “alone” day at the gym and 35 minutes into my 45 minute stint on the eliptical I just about threw in the towel.

workout motivation 3

I made all kinds of excuses for why it would be okay to quit. You’re still sore from your training session with The Assassin, it’s ok. This is your first week back, it’s ok. It’s only 10 minutes, it’s ok.

workout motivation

And just as I started to slow down to cheat myself out of 10 minutes these 2 songs came on my iphone (see below). And just like that I was back at it pushing through all the pain and soreness. I was in the zone. It was like a sign from the workout guardians watching over me saying you can do it. And so I did! I felt so accomplished and sore when I stepped out of that gym last night because I knew it was that easy for me to quit but I didn’t. That’s what it’s all about! So when you’re feeling like quitting or throwing in the towel just think about how great you’ll feel pushing through the pain.

workout motivation 2

No worries…I got this!

My 2 newfound motivational songs:

One thought on “Summertime all the time fine: Workout Motivation

Leave a Reply

