On the Shelf: The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo

Alert the media I’ve finished a book ladies and gentleman!!!!!!!!
To most this is probably not such a big deal but to me this is HUUUUGE!

dragon tattoo

My sister loaned me The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo by Steig Larsson almost 2 years ago. I would start reading then something would happen to get me all unfocused then I would forget what I read and have to start all over again. This happened for about 6 months and then I quit.

Then the movie came out and my sister went to see it… without me. She told me how great it was and that I needed to see it BUT I couldn’t see it until I finished reading the book. Who did she think she was laying down all these rules! She’s not the boss of me! But I really wanted to see the movie so again I started to read the book. Then baby brain happened and it was a wrap for reading anything other than What To Expect When You’re Expecting.

I never made it to the theatre to see it but when it came on cable, after holding out for about 3 months, I gave in and watched it with my boyfriend. The movie was so good (I’m totally obsessed with Lisbeth Salander or Rooney Mara now), I figured that if what they say about the book always being better than the movie is true, I’ve got to read this book because not being able to finish this damn book was looming over my head. Let me tell you that when you factor in being exhausted 95% of the time, chasing after the fastest crawler I’ve ever seen, commuting back and forth to work it was no easy feat. But I set a goal to do whatever it took to sneak in 10 pages a day and although kind of tough, I’m glad I did because yes the movie was great but the book was so much better.

I can now (with a sense of accomplishment) put the book on the shelf well actually give if back to my sister you know what I meant and mark it as read. Now that I’m an accomplished book reader I am moving on to The Girl That Played With Fire. Yes, I’m reading the world 1 book at a time.

Have you read The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo and/or seen the movie? If so, what did you think?

No worries…I got this!

Leave a Reply

