Mama’s in the Kitchen Cooking (Lasagna)

I’m not a lover of pasta, meaning I don’t hate it but if I didn’t have it in months I wouldn’t really miss it. That is until I made lasagna for the very first time. I don’t mean to toot my own horn but tooooot toooooooot. If it wasn’t detrimental to Operation Summertime All the Time Fine I’d eat it everyday. Again this recipe doesn’t require too many ingredients which I love. All you need is:

1) lasagna noodles
2) tomato sauce
3) ground beef or turkey
4) small tub of ricotta cheese
5) 3 packs of shredded cheese (I used 1 pack of mozzarella nd 2 packs of colby jack)
6) frozen spinach
6) your favorite seasonings (I used sazon, salt, pepper & oregano

Step 1:
Cook lasagne in boiling water for about 10 minutes or until noodles are al dente

Step 2:
Preheat oven on 350

Step 3:
Cook ground beef or turkey in a skillet with your favorite seasonings until browned then mix tomato sauce into skillet. While cooking ground beef or turkey, cook frozen spinach in boiling water.

Step 4:
Once noodles, ground beef or turkey & spinach are done is when the magic happens.

Step 5:
The layering. There was a big debate in my household in regards to the layering of the lasagna, some said start with meat on bottom and end with meat on top others said noodles on bottom and noodles on top. I took bought suggestions and put meat at the bottom and noodles on top.
In a baking pan layer enough ground meat in the pan to cover pan, then shredded cheese, spinach, ricotta cheese and noodles. Get layering until ingredients are to the top of the pan. ***I had a problem of juices dripping to the bottom of the oven so maybe you want to lay aluminum foil at the floor of the stove***.

Step 6:
Cook in the oven for about 40-45 minutes.

And there you have it…hearty, cheesy goodness!

lasagna

No Worries…I Got This!

Leave a Reply

