Mama’s in the kitchen cooking (Pan Seared Scallops and Panko Breaded Asparagus)

I was blog surfing one day and came across two recipes (pan seared scallops and panko breaded asparagus) that had my mouth watering I just had to try them. So for my mom’s birthday I decided to put my cute little apron that my sissy Kay bought me about 4 Christmas’ ago and cook my mama a fancy meal. It came out pretty good if I do say so myself.

Ingredients:
Fresh large scallops
1 bunch of asparagus
Panko bread crumbs
Your Favorite cheese
3 Eggs
Olive Oil
White Wine
Butter
Your favorite seasonings

Pan Seared Scallops

Rinse scallops off and be sure to pat dry.
Season with your favorite seasonings. I used salt pepper and garlic
010

Heat olive oil in a non stick frying pan on high.
When oil is hot place scallops in pan with a bit of a distance between to make sure they don’t stick together.
The recipe said that after about 2 minutes bottom of the scallops should be browned and to turn them over. Mine didn’t brown as quickly.
Turn over and brown the other side
011
Once browned on both sides remove scallops and let sit.
Add about 1/2 cup of white wine and a pat of butter to the olive oil left in the pan, reduce heat and let it simmer for about a minute or 2.
Pour white wine sauce over scallops (Sorry guys I thought I took a picture with the sauce on it but I guess I didn’t, but here is my final product)
013


Panko Breaded Asparagus

Spray with olive oil and preheat oven to 425 degrees
Cut off the ends of the asparagus spears and rinse off
003
Beat 3 egg whites into a bowl
In a different bowl mix panko, flour, cheese (the recipe called for parmesan but my supermarket but for some freakish reason the cheese section of the market was closed this day) and your favorite seasonings (this time I just used salt & pepper)
002
Coat each asparagus spear in the egg and then coat with the panko mix and place on baking sheet or dish (the recipe advises that you may have to coat in panko mix more than once, I coated a couple of times and it wasn’t as heavily battered as I would have liked but it cooked to a nice brown anyway).
005
Place in oven for about 15 minutes and viola!
016

This meal was pretty quick to make and delicious. It was totally one of my more bourgier dishes and everyone loved it.

Recipe credit: http://goodfoodfreshingredients.com

No worries…I got this!

4 thoughts on “Mama’s in the kitchen cooking (Pan Seared Scallops and Panko Breaded Asparagus)

Leave a Reply

