Mama’s in the kitchen cooking: Avocados Stuffed with Crabmeat & Mango

I love avocados and to our delight so does babygirl. A couple of weeks ago I spied with my hungry eyes a recipe on Food Network for Stuffed Avocados and instantly needed to try it.  Last night I went to the supermarket to pick up some avocado for babygirl and decided what better time to test it out.

Ingredients

Ingredients

Ingredients

**the photo included mayonnaise but the mix of the other ingredients was so fresh and citrusy tasting that I opted not to use it and I totally forgot to use the cucumbers***

Avocado
Lump Crabmeat
Lime
Cilantro
Mango
Onions
Olive Oil

Step 1:
Squeeze juice from 1 half of the lime into a bowl with 2 tablespoons of olive oil, 1 tablespoon of chopped cilantro and lime zest.  Whisk all 4 ingredients well.

Step 2:
Cut 1 half of the mango into small cubes.

Step 3:
Chop onions (the amount of onion is to your liking).

Step 4:
Stir mango & onions into the lime juice, olive oil, cilantro and lime zest and toss gently to ensure it is well mixed in.

Lime juice, olive oil, cilantro, zest, mango & onion mix

Lime juice, olive oil, cilantro, zest, mango & onion mix

Step 5:
Add lump crabmeat to mixture.  Stir lightly as not to unlump the crabmeat too much.

Mixture with crabmeat added

Mixture with crabmeat added

Step 6:
Cut avocados in half and remove pit

Step 7:
Squeeze lime juice from the other half of the lime onto & rub lime around the meat of the avocado to prevent it from turning brown.

avocado with lime juice

avocado with lime juice

Step 8:
Cut a small portion of the bottom of the avocado off to prevent it from rolling around the plate.

Step 9:
Depending on how pretty you want it to look use an ice cream scooper or spoon to place crabmeat mixture into avocado.  I don’t own an ice cream scooper.  If I did I’d then have to buy ice cream and since I’m trying to lose weight ice cream is the devil right about now.  So I used a spoon and I think it came out pretty anyways.

Stuffed Avocado w/ crabmeat & mango

Stuffed Avocado w/ crabmeat & mango

Step 10:
Stuff your face…I know we did!

I love this recipe!  It was fast.  No stove required.  Simple ingredients.  Very fresh tasting.  And super healthy!  I can see myself making this alot during the summer months when it’s just too hot to cook over a stove.

                 No worries…I got this!!!!

Leave a Reply

