The Cleanse

I’ve been officially off of the cleanse for a couple of weeks now and although it wasn’t very pleasant eating raw vegetables ALL DAY LONG I must admit that I look and feel better.  I’ve been stuck in a certain weight range since I got pregnant with baby girl and given birth and no matter what I did I couldn’t get out of this particular range.  I’m proud to say  that I lost 12 lbs and am way out of that range.  Even while cleansing I was afraid that once I started eating like a normal person again I would gain again and be right back where I started but so far so good.  I’ve been able to keep it off.   I learned a lot in those 20 days about myself, my choices in food, what I liked and disliked about this cleanse that I plan on taking along with me on this journey of healthy weight loss.  Like to hear em?  Here they go…

The 2 most important things in continuing my weight loss is preparedness and self control.  The days that I prepared my lunches and snacks the night before were the days that I did my best.  In preparing my meals in advance it took away those  hungry moments when usually I’d run to the vending machine and grab a bag of chips or what have you.  Being prepared took all of the guess work out of that what to eat during that 330 in the afternoon “I need a snack time”.   And for those days when I wasn’t prepared I had to use lots and lots of self control to keep my goal in focus and not do anything to jeopardize what I was working towards.  Trust me it was tough but the feeling of accomplishment I felt and still feel trumps any piece of cooked food I could have eaten.

I learned that I love my coffee and it’s something I’m not willing to give up but since I’m not willing to give it up I have to make better choices which meant no more sugary, syrupy lattes from Starbucks.  I’m actually proud of the fact that I haven’t had a Starbucks drink in about a month and a half…I digress.  I have a Keurig coffee machine that I absolutely love and so I make my own coffee everyday instead of spending $10 a day on a drink with ingredients that although are quite tasty, disagree with my waistline, my wallet and my goals.

Water is my friend.  I used to not drink as much water as I should because it sent me to the bathroom a lot but nothing tops the bathroom runs I had while preggers and so pour me another glass please!

My final lesson learned was moderation.  I love french fries or potatoes for that matter but unfortunately for me I don’t have the metabolism of a supermodel or 8-year-old and so I can’t have them as much as I want.  But I can have them in moderation.  I like to think of myself as a realist and being a realist I know I will never be one of those people who will completely cut a food group out of my life to be thinner and unhappy, but I can have some of the not so great things in moderation, still achieve getting thinner and be happy.

This cleanse was just the jump-start I needed to lose a couple of pounds and motivate me to return to my workout regime.   I didn’t expect to learn as much as I did and to stick with it but hey look at me now.  And so it all begin….

Oh and if you were wondering about Mr. Grumps he lost a gang of weight without even trying as hard…men *tuh*

No worries…I got this!

Leave a Reply

